Who We Are

The Okanagan Collaborative Conservation Program (OCCP) is a partnership of organizations and government with shared goals, which include maintaining regional biodiversity, protecting Species at Risk, maintaining ecological connectivity throughout the Okanagan Basin, and balancing regional growth with conservation.

Partners in the OCCP include all levels of government (Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO), BC Ministry of Environment (BC MOE), regional districts, and municipalities), land trusts, stewardship and outreach organizations.


occp logo final copy2

The OCCP is a collaboration of conservation oriented organizations working together, sharing information and carrying out research to fill knowledge gaps, and set priorities on conservation issues in the Okanagan basin of British Columbia, Canada.  Its purpose is to facilitate, communicate and educate, not lobby or advocate.

OCCP partners have each signed a Statement of Cooperation, outlining their shared concern for local biodiversity and commitment to work together toward conservation objectives.


The OCCP website is referred to as the OKCP, which stands for Okanagan Conservation Planning.  More info on the OKCP.  For links to our partners and their contact information click here.

OCCP Organizational Structure

OCCP Coordinator: Carol Luttmer

occp structure

The key bodies and positions of the OCCP, depicted in the figure below, include:

1. Steering Committee – Guides the successful implementation of the OCCP by ensuring organizational functions, facilitating interaction and communication between members, and providing strategic direction.

2. Action Teams – Formed of, and by, the partners and wider community, to respond to an identified need, implement a focused action plan, and when the objective is accomplished, dissolve.

3. Coordinator – The coordinator manages the OCCP's day-to-day function by liaising between members, improving communication, organizing information and resources for members, and working with other contractors and volunteers to deliver commitments and services for the community.

The membership, roles and responsibilities of each body and position, in addition to general partnering organizations are the subject of this section.


Strategic Directions


The Okanagan landscape sustains biological diversity and ecological processes, while supporting a sustainable community for many generations.


To coordinate and facilitate conservation and stewardship efforts on public and private lands, set conservation and stewardship goals and objectives, and generate the support and resources needed to maintain this effort.

Continue Reading

Steering Committee Members 2014

Member Organization E-mail
Carol Luttmer  OCCP Coordinator
Carolina Restrepo


Arthur Green Okanagan College
 Aaron Deans Allan Brooks Nature Centre  
 Rob Miles City of Vernon  
Laura Frank Regional District of North Okanagan
Margaret Bakelaar Regional District of Central Okanagan


If you need any information about any of our current projects please click here to be redirected to our Projects page.

Partner Representatives

Allan Brooks Nature Centre Aaron Deans Executive Director www.abnc.ca
BC Ministry of Environment Brian Robertson Ecosystems Officer www.env.gov.bc.ca/wld/
Central Okanagan Land Trust Kurt Zander Director www.coltrust.ca
Central Okanagan
Naturalists Club
Don W. Guild President www.okanagannature.org
City of Kelowna Todd Cashin Environment and Lands Manager www.kelowna.ca
City of Vernon Brooke Marshall Environmental Planner www.vernon.ca
  Ann Klein-Morgenstern Planning Assistant
Mapping Network
Brad Mason Director, Community Mapping Network www.cmnbc.ca
Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada Brad Mason Director, Community Mapping Network www.pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca
District of Coldstream Michelle Austin Planning Technician www.districtofcoldstream.ca
Ducks Unlimited of Canada Bruce Harrison Head, Intermountain Conservation Programs www.ducks.ca
Grasslands Conservation
Amber Cowie   www.bcgrasslands.org
Land Trust Alliance
of BC
Bill Wagner Member www.landtrustalliance.bc.ca
North Okanagan Naturalists Club Harold Sellers   www.nonc.ca
North Okanagan Parks & Natural Area Trust Bill Wagner Co-Chair www.nopnat.com
Okanagan Basin
Water Board
Anna Warwick Sears Executive Director www.obwb.ca
  Corinne Jackson Communications Director  
Okanagan College Arthur Green Professor (Geography)  www.okanagan.bc.ca
Okanagan Partnership Brad Clements Coordinator www.okanaganpartnership.ca
Outdoor Discoveries Roseanne Van Ee Naturalist www.outdoordiscoveries.com
Regional District of the Central Okanagan Margaret
Environmental Planner www.cord.bc.ca
Regional District of the North Okanagan Anna Page Sustainability Coordinator www.rdno.ca
Sciences Opportunities for Kids Jennifer French Program Coordinator www.soks.ca
Sustainable Environmental Network Society Julia Lissau Treasurer www.sensociety.org
South Okanagan Similkameen Conservation Program Bryn White Program Coordinator www.soscp.org
The Land
Conservancy of BC
The Nature
Canada, BC Region
Barbara Pryce Okanagan Program Manager www.natureconservancy.ca
District of Lake Country Carie Liefke Planner www.lakecountry.bc.ca
District of West Kelowna Brent Magnan Environmental Planner brent.magnan@districtofwestkelowna.ca www.districtofwestkelowna.ca
Village of Lumby     www.lumby.ca
Environment Canada Lucy Reiss    
District of Peachland  Paul Dupuis

Planning Technician

Bishop Sanctuary of Coldstream Aaron Deans Manager www.bishopwildbirdsancturary.org
Society for the
protection of
Kalamalka Lake
Christine Cookson/Trina Koch   http://www.spkl.ca/Home_.html
UBCO Lake Magazine Nancy Holmes Associate Professor www.lakejournal.ca
UBCO Centre for
Social, Spatial &
Econocmic Justice
Jon Corbett Associate Professor http://www.ubc.ca/okanagan/cssej/welcome.html
Vernon in Transition Bill Darnell   http://www.transitionnetwork.org/


Organization Name Position E-mail Website

Water Sustainability Action Plan for BC

Kim Stephens

Program Coordinator


Pacific Salmon Foundation

Brian Riddell

President & CEO


Partners In Flight/Canadian Wildlife Service

Tanya Luszcz

BC/Yukon/Great Basin Program Manager


Oceola Fish and Game Club    

Ophiucus Consulting Allison Haney R.P.Bio

Green Party of Canada Huguette Allen Okanagan Shuswap


Royal British Columbia Museum Robert Cannings Curator of Entemology


Artemis Wildlife Consultants Helen Davis and Richard Weir Wildlife Biologists


FORREX Don Gayton Specialist, Grassland and Forest Ecology


Environment Canada/Canadian Wildlife Service Jan Kirkby Landscape Ecologist


Simon Fraser University Department of Earth Sciences Diana M. Allen Professor


Iverson & Mackenzie Biological Consulting Kristi Iverson R.P.Bio


OCCP Support Us

To support our collaborative function, please contact the Program Coordinator Carol Luttmer at .

For in cash contributions, one of our partners, Allan Brooks Nature Center will receive it in our behalf. Please contact our Coordinator who will give you directions for this procedure.

Photo Gallery